Show All Member Profiles 
Last 10 Posts
Gliders of the Round Table 10
by Feather. 03/27/24 07:04 PM
Logging in Problem
by Feather. 03/26/24 06:07 PM
Cloaca swollen?
by Hutch. 03/16/24 11:51 PM
Wheels, Toys, Toy supplies, pouches and more.
by Ladymagyver. 03/07/24 11:16 PM
Gliders of the Round Table 9
by Hutch. 03/07/24 10:52 PM
Stewie:" It's MY Mouse!"
by Hutch. 03/04/24 12:12 AM
2024 Sugar Glider Calendar and Cafe Press Store
by theresaw. 02/29/24 08:55 PM
Custom Cage Liners Machine Wash & Dry
by gr8pots. 02/27/24 04:23 PM
Google+

Facebook
Join Us On Facebook
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Protozoal Parasites #160028
10/20/06 12:02 PM
10/20/06 12:02 PM

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A

I have mentioned this topic before, but I really didn't develop a sense of what protozoal parasites can do to a sugar glider once infected. Currently, 3 of my gliders have these parasites, but I work as a veterinary tech and it seems that these parasites are very common in many animals. Has anyone had any experience with these parasites that can inform me of the dangers or possibly shed some light about these parasites. That would be really helpful.

Re: Protozoal Parasites [Re: ] #160047
10/20/06 01:35 PM
10/20/06 01:35 PM

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A

Giardia is the most common Protozal parasite that can affect gliders. Once infected the parasite can interfer with the absorption of vitamins and nutrients. Diarrhea can occur along with poor appetite and dehydration.

I remember reading that certain meds pescribed can cause seizures.. will have to go look into that part though.

Re: Protozoal Parasites [Re: ] #160810
10/22/06 10:53 PM
10/22/06 10:53 PM

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A

Giardia and Trichomonads are two common types of protozoan parasites. I have been going through extensive problems with these bugs in the past several months. Here are some links to the threads where I posted about them: