GliderCENTRAL

New Sugar Glider Mom

Posted By: Suggiefan2017

New Sugar Glider Mom - 03/11/17 03:47 AM

Hello, this is my first time on this site and I just joined up. My partner and I recently adopted two sweet suggie boys from a breeder. We've had them about 3 weeks now, and they have come along way with getting acclimated to their new home. We spend at least an hour an night in the tent and they spend the majority of it on my shoulder. We do bonding time on my days off during the day (unfortunately is it only 3 days a week) and my partner does bonding when he gets home from work on the nights I am working late. I feel we have a routine down and I just want to know if the shoulder sitting is a good sign? I never put my hands near their face, I always let them come to me and I know it may be a long time before they let me pet them. The only other question I have is they sometimes still bite my hands, and it usually when they are using it as a perch they only bite my fingers but it is hard but never breaks skin. I'm used to being bitten (I work with animals and I have tamed my hamster) and the breeder did warn me about it but I was wondering if this is aggressive grooming or fear behavior? Anyway, I am excited to have joined up and I can't wait to read more of these forums!
Posted By: KarenE

Re: New Sugar Glider Mom - 03/11/17 04:30 AM

:welcomegc:

The bonding process seems to be coming along very well, and the shoulder sitting is a good thing wink

Now the biting the fingers is something that needs to be corrected before it gets to the point of possibly drawing blood. Right now it might be a game, but it's something that should be discouraged.