GliderCENTRAL

New Glider Mom

Posted By: Sally53

New Glider Mom - 06/01/17 01:37 PM

Good morning all,
I'm a newbie to gliders. Like many, I first saw gliders at a craft show or something similar many years ago. Finally bought two from Craigslist a week ago. I was told they are both just over a year old. Male (neutered) and female. I believe they were both purchased from one of the many show. They seem to be fairly well adjusted and the people were feeding a reasonable diet. They were a christmas gift for the daughter but my impression was that they moved too fast for her plus the nipping and scratching were off putting.
For the last week I have have mostly just left them alone. I have carried them in a pouch a couple of times and spent time just watching and talking to them. I have started them on the Critter Love diet. I had no idea something that small could eat that much. I have named them Primrose and Jinks (not jinx as in bad luck).
On to my questions. I have had dogs for years and always used Nature's Miracle to clean after them so that was my go to for the glider cage. After reading some other posts, I'm questioning that. Opinions? Another question is how many treats are OK? I'm thinking I'll start doing bathroom time this weekend. Does that sound appropriate?

Thank you for your time,
Sally
Posted By: Alan

Re: New Glider Mom - 06/01/17 02:04 PM

First off welcome!!! There are a ton of great people here with a ton of info that can help you out!!