GliderCENTRAL

Introducing a new glider...

Posted By: Anonymous

Introducing a new glider... - 05/11/05 12:37 AM

I'm trying to introduce a 2.1/2 yr old female to my 1 yr old male, and she does not like him, i've had the male for a year now and just bought the female this week from a friend. The male seems to want to get to know her but she keeps fighting him. Any suggestions?
Posted By: Xglider

Re: Introducing a new glider... - 05/11/05 01:10 AM

OK first off Sorry I have monopolized the Board…

Please give us some information… DO you have them in separate cages… you should.. and then exchange their pouches so they can get used to each others smells… ok .. lets get some help here I am not that good at putting thing into “type” sometimes…
Posted By: Anonymous

Re: Introducing a new glider... - 05/12/05 05:39 PM

Yes the cages side by side helps (just make sure they can't reach each other). pouch and/or cage swapping can help. Also wrapping something like a blanket or sheet (that they can't get tangled in) can help mingle their smells and get them used to one another.
Some have used a bit of vanilla flavoring down each back to make them smell like each other as well.
Let us know how they do.
(hows that for 'into type' Xglider?)
Posted By: queenduck

Re: Introducing a new glider... - 05/13/05 03:58 PM

I'd like to add the key words in older gliders should be, Slow Introductions. Since both are over a year old, they make take longer to accept eachother than say a pair of joeys. All the tips you got above are great. When I introduce gliders it's usually after I keep the newest glider alone for a few weeks. This gives them time to adjust to their new home and glider parent before having to meet another glider, and if the new gliders is sick, you might not know at first.