GliderCENTRAL

Hi, I'm new!

Posted By: JazP

Hi, I'm new! - 06/29/17 01:26 AM

Hi everyone! This is my first time on here. I am really excited to be part of this forum. We have one sugar glider, Gizmo, that we got April 19th. We got him from the pocket pets. They said he was about 8-9 weeks old. He is such a good glder, I just need some advice. I often feel like the worst glider mom because we're having bonding and holding issues. If he is asleep under his blanket, I can grab him easily and hold him. But, when he's loose in his cage, I have problems trying to catch him while he runs ALL over his cage. My husband can, but I have problems trying to. I know it sounds stupid, I'm much bigger, I shouldn't be scared, just gently go in there and get him. But, I can't. I just can't do it for some reason. My husband is really great with him, though. According to the pocket pets guy, it could take one to two months for him to fully bond, and by then you should be able to hold him with no problem, and let him run around with you. But, we are so far from that step, I feel like we're not even close yet. I just don't know. I don't feel like we're making progress with him.
And to make it all a bit more frustrating, my mother in law was with us when we got him, so she sat and heard the 1 long speech about how to take care of him. She doesn't say much, but she doesn't have to. The tone in her voice says it all. I know she's disappointed because he isn't where the pocket pets guy said he should be by now. We have a 7 year old daughter. We have decided that she can hold Gizmo once we get him used to us holding him. I don't want her to try to hold him early, and have a traumatizing experience. But, because she heard the whole spiel on how it should only take 1 month, sometimes 2, for him to get fully used to us, she gets bothered because our daughter hasn't held him yet, other than in the bonding pouch.
I apologize this is so long, especially for a first post lol