GliderCENTRAL

Overgrooming?

Posted By: glidersug

Overgrooming? - 04/21/19 03:18 PM

Hi everyone! Newbie here, haha
I'm close to adopting two male sugar gliders (both will be nuetuered) very soon. I get regular updates and it appears one males eye is a little "swollen"? I'm not sure what word to use but the eye isn't open fully. A small amount of fur is missing as well. Its been about a month and its slightly improved. The person tells me it's because the mother is agitated and overgrooming them. Is this normal?
I know things happen and they have their own way. Just wanted to learn more about this, thank you! (:
Posted By: Xeno

Re: Overgrooming? - 04/21/19 04:22 PM

Hard to know without understanding the situation. Why is the mom so agitated? Not sure how overgrooming would mess with his eye but I am less experienced then many here and hopefully they will help more.

Re: Overgrooming? - 04/21/19 04:31 PM

Originally Posted by Xeno
Hard to know without understanding the situation. Why is the mom so agitated? Not sure how overgrooming would mess with his eye but I am less experienced then many here and hopefully they will help more.

I was told its because the boys were nursing too rough with her. I'm not sure either, but I'm no expert haha.
Posted By: Feather

Re: Overgrooming? - 04/21/19 08:21 PM

To me it sounds like the joey with they eye and momma need to be vet checked. Her to make sure she doesn't have mastitis and him to make sure the eye is ok.
Posted By: Ladymagyver

Re: Overgrooming? - 04/22/19 12:55 AM

Originally Posted by Feather
To me it sounds like the joey with they eye and momma need to be vet checked. Her to make sure she doesn't have mastitis and him to make sure the eye is ok.

:agreed: :thumb2:

Re: Overgrooming? - 04/22/19 01:05 AM

Originally Posted by Ladymagyver

:agreed: :thumb2:

thank you for the replies!