GliderCENTRAL

Trios

Posted By: anongliders

Trios - 03/10/15 06:57 PM

Are male based breeding trios actually safer than female based trios? Females pull joeys out of jealousy and males will care for another males joeys. (is what i was told)
Posted By: Feather

Re: Trios - 03/10/15 08:06 PM

I have no experience with trios. I know people have left a son in after he was neutered and they make very good uncles. Not sure how two brothers would work though.
Posted By: CandyOtte

Re: Trios - 03/10/15 08:13 PM

If you are referring to a trio with a female and two INTACT males - there could be fighting between the males each month when the female is in heat over breeding rights.

You would also have no way of knowing which male was the father of any joeys produced.

If the trio is a female, one intact male and a neutered male it may work. If the neutered male was neutered BEFORE he began to mature, he may never have developed any interest in mating and probably will not conflict with the other male when the female is in heat. If he was neutered after reaching maturity he may still attempt to mate with the female each month and also may fight with the other male.

I have 3 colonies of gliders. In the first one there are two females and two males that were neutered as young joeys. I have never observed ANY mating behavior in this colony.

The second is a trio of probably related gliders that came to me from a glider rescue. The two males, probably father and son, were both adults when they were neutered and even after 5 years they will both attempt to mate with the female when she is in heat, but they do not fight with each other in doing so.

The third colony is a family colony and I have had the neutered sons (neutered young) living with the family actually help care for younger joeys, staying in the pouch with them while the parents were out and even carrying them around in the cage.