GliderCENTRAL

Urgent help needed for joey

Posted By: Anonymous

Urgent help needed for joey - 05/04/08 02:47 AM

Mom died and baby in pouch is moving. I read about the surrogate but I don't have any nursing mom's now. Can I place the joey in a pouch of a mom who joey's oop in Dec 07. Not been with a male since. What to do. Baby is fully formed, sex is male, bald about 2 inches long very active. Is he to young to try to raise with dropper or is the only way with a surrogate? If surrogate does she have to be nursing or joey's in pouch???
Help...

Re: Urgent help needed for joey - 05/04/08 02:52 AM

omg this is so horrible - I'm so sorry I have no experience with joeys or hand raising but I know there are many members on these forums with hands-on knowledge of what to do next. I know that for SURE you need to be keeping the joey warm as they cannot regulate their own temp. I'm sure someone will come with directions of how to respond very soon....

Also, do you know how long the mother has been "gone" and do you have any pics so maybe we will be able to tell how close to being OOP the joey is??

Re: Urgent help needed for joey - 05/04/08 02:58 AM

Originally Posted By: suggiemom_1980
For Rejected Joey Emergencies, please call me 24/7 at 440-953-0904 (or toll-free 866-399-4476); leave a message, then try my cell: 440-520-4799. Suz

I hope it was not bad for me to quote that from another post (and I'm sorry if it is) but I'd presume its kind of the same circumstances as having a rejected joey... I've heard that Suz is extremely helpful for these cases.
Posted By: BeckiT

Re: Urgent help needed for joey - 05/04/08 02:58 AM

Do you know how close to being OOP this baby is?

Your best bet is to call Suz -
440-953-0904 (home)
866-399-4476 (toll-free at home)
if no answer please leave a message and then try:
440-520-4799 (cell)
Posted By: Trigger

Re: Urgent help needed for joey - 05/04/08 03:07 AM