GliderCENTRAL

The Importance of Blood Work AND Xrays...

Posted By: Srlb

The Importance of Blood Work AND Xrays... - 06/15/09 06:43 PM

Not too very long ago we had a discussion about the importance of blood work and xrays being done to our gliders.

Many thought it was too risky, some thought it was not necessary. I am here to explain to you why I have and will always feel both of these things ARE of GREAT importance for not only your gliders but others as well.

I have a set of twins, Womba and Roo, that needed to go in for neutering today as they are being shipped to their new home July 3rd.
Whenever I take in a glider for neutering, I normally take in one or two of mine for blood work and/or Xrays. Just too make sure everyone is doing fine and staying healthy. Today I was going to take in Pepper and Bear with me, as I know they havent had theirs done in a while, but I decided against them, and took Dasher in instead. Afterall, I wanted him neutered as well.

We got the twins neutered with no problems, next came Dasher. Of course all the new employees that are there now hadnt seen him last time, and they all fell in love with that pug nose of his. grin

We do the neuter and that goes fine, got blood fine and xrays fine, but Tristan noticed that it seemed like Dashers stomach was distended...concern .... he asks me if he can do an ultrasound and of course I say yes, we start to think possibly his food just didnt digest maybe?

He wheels over the ultrasound machine and fire it up. Unfortunately, it wasnt Dashers stomach at all, it was his liver. He has a LARGE mass on his liver. Mind you 21months ago when he was in, both his blood work AND xrays showed him to be 100% A-OK...

Dasher shows no signs of having any type of issues. He eats fine, he runs and plays, he is purely all glider for sure. But his liver definitely has issues.