GliderCENTRAL

DIY custom habitat

Posted By: alixdor

DIY custom habitat - 04/16/15 11:36 PM

Hello, I am new hear and not yet a glider mommy but will be on monday.
I am rescuing 2 gliders and will be taking 2 others from a friend as well. I am a bit of a habitat building hobbyist, building custom habitats, terrarium and vivariums in my spare time. I have decided to do the same for my new gliders (hopefully they all end up in 1 big happy colony or I will have to make another habitat)

Here are my plans, please any advice or tips would be appreciated.
I will also attach all links to websites where I am purchasing my products incase anyone would like to buy some, or give me advice on weather or not it is sugar glider appropriate. I am still learning and really want to make sure all products are non-toxic to the gliders and gentle on their paws.

/Users/ChristineBaillargeon/Desktop/11149185_10153121163398700_466703241_n.jpg

^ I am moving my table out of this nook to dedicate the area to the enclosure. They will be in a relatively common area so they will can a lot of attention even when they are not being held.
The area they will occupy is 82.5" wide by 28" deep and 6 feet high (this is the space within, already having accounted for the thickness of materials)

The ceiling itself is 9 feet high, therefore I will build a bench type area on the bottom portion with doors for storage and access to the electric plugs.

The two pot lights will fall within the enclosure, but they are on a separate switch then all other lights in the room and are on a dimmer, I may or may not put in moonlight bulbs (opinions?) There will be 2 inches between light and wire so that the gliders cannot touch it. I will also place a plastic cover on hinges for easy access to lights and stream-line top of enclosure with ceiling.