GliderCENTRAL

fleece

Posted By: brobrawn

fleece - 07/21/15 11:39 AM

So I am still pretty new to sugar gliders. My babies will be here on the 7th of August. But anyways I went into the pet store for bedding and water bottles and that type of thing. I was talking to one of the employees that owns rescues and I was told to be aware of the type of fleece I use. That some fleece has little hooks that there nails can get caught in. This is the first person I have heard this from so I'm just wondering what you guys think. I am aware that the cheaper fleece will have to be replaced more often but should I even risk using it at all or do you guys think it os safe until I see some wear in the fabric?
Posted By: KarenE

Re: fleece - 07/21/15 12:38 PM

Truthfully, I'm no fleece expert, but I've always used the anti pill fleece because it resists resists pilling and frays. I think this is what most vendors will use as well.

It will be more than what you have purchased, but you can buy any amount you wish.

Re: fleece - 07/21/15 01:04 PM

Do you think it would be ok to use that fleece until it gets some wear or do you think I should just go buy the more expensive stuff to be on the safe side. Also a lot of what I bought is being made into a cage cover. So they wouldn't have but so much contact with it.
Posted By: KarenE

Re: fleece - 07/21/15 01:32 PM

Just be sure to watching for any fraying in particular (around the edges). You wouldn't want them to get caught in some of the fabric.

Hopefully someone with more knowledge about fleece will come along later with more information for you.
Posted By: CandyOtte

Re: fleece - 07/21/15 06:46 PM

The fleece I usually warn folks to stay away from is the very thin baby fleece that is more of a woven fabric that has been brushed to fray the thread and make it fluffy like fleece.

It does not have the same uniform texture that the polar or anti-pill fleece does.