Show All Member Profiles 
Last 10 Posts
Gliders of the Round Table 10
by Feather. 03/27/24 07:04 PM
Logging in Problem
by Feather. 03/26/24 06:07 PM
Cloaca swollen?
by Hutch. 03/16/24 11:51 PM
Wheels, Toys, Toy supplies, pouches and more.
by Ladymagyver. 03/07/24 11:16 PM
Gliders of the Round Table 9
by Hutch. 03/07/24 10:52 PM
Stewie:" It's MY Mouse!"
by Hutch. 03/04/24 12:12 AM
2024 Sugar Glider Calendar and Cafe Press Store
by theresaw. 02/29/24 08:55 PM
Custom Cage Liners Machine Wash & Dry
by gr8pots. 02/27/24 04:23 PM
Google+

Facebook
Join Us On Facebook
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
What is Giardia? #626457
09/01/08 09:17 PM
09/01/08 09:17 PM
Austin, TX
USMom Offline OP
Serious Glideritis
USMom  Offline OP
Serious Glideritis

Austin, TX
Okay, I'm not a newbie, and I don't have any sick gliders (thank God). I am trying to put together some notes for myself here, and any of you experienced with this, if you could give input, that would be awesome!

So, what is Giardia? Signs/symptoms?
How is it diagnosed? Best tests?
How is it spread?
How do you contain it?
How do you treat it (general med info, no dosages, please)?

Shawna
Who are you networked with? Networking could save your gliders life. Create one now.

Re: What is Giardia? [Re: USMom] #626462
09/01/08 09:24 PM
09/01/08 09:24 PM

B
bdeese
Unregistered
bdeese
Unregistered
B

I have only had one run in with giardia. My friend bought a glider and didnot know she was sick.
Some of her signs and symptoms were lethargy, diaherra and vomiting.
its best diagnosed by your vet running a fecal
its spread by contact with affected food and water or sometimes by touching where an affected animal has been.
its contained by treatment of the animal and cleaning and sanitizing the housing and bedding.
metronidazole is most commonly prescribed for sugar gliders as treatment.

Re: What is Giardia? [Re: ] #626468
09/01/08 09:28 PM
09/01/08 09:28 PM
Austin, TX
USMom Offline OP
Serious Glideritis
USMom  Offline OP